Other Multi Tool / Swiss Army Knife

Discussion in 'General' started by will_123, 3 Mar 2014.

1. will_123

will_123 Small childs brain in a big body

Im looking to buy myself a decent swiss army knife/multi tool for my work. Im a sys admin but moved into a role where there is a much larger data centre. Doing a lot more maintenance than before. Always cutting stuff and lifting gratings, I feel a nice well made mutli tool would be very useful.

Anybody got a good one? Wirecutters, knife and plyers would be a good start. Durability would be good so its well made and solid :)

Cheers for advice.

William

2. Gunsmith

Gunsmith Maximum Win

I've a leatherman Skeletool CX here next to me, sure it doesn't have all the bells and whistles of the bigger leathermans but I don't need them plus it weighs next to nothing.

[​IMG]

comfy as **** to use as well.

3. Lovah

Lovah Apple and Canon fanboy

I have a Leatherman Wave in my work-briefcase. I've owned this particular wave for over 8 years and it still works flawlessly. They can take a beaten.

For serious daily use, I would suggest a decent wirecutter (Knipex), plyers (Knipex), some screwdrivers (Facom?) and your choice of knife though. The Leatherman is fine for the occasional use, but it's not the most easy to use tool for every day use.

good luck

4. BentAnat

BentAnat Software Dev

Leatherman all the way.
    I personally don't use multi tools, but mates of mine do, and they swear by Leatherman simply for the hassle free service (including exchanging the blades, locks, etc if necessary) at any reputable Leatherman store.

Mind - that's like that in South Africa and Namibia. Not sure about the rest of the world.

5. mrlongbeard

mrlongbeard Multimodder

6. LennyRhys

LennyRhys Fan Fan

Victorinox too - I have two of them and one of them is a good 5 years old, used regularly, still very strong.

The steel that Victorinox use puts any other knife I have to shame - gets very sharp and stays sharp.

7. Gareth Halfacree