Education The value of self-taught skills

Discussion in 'General' started by Elledan, 23 Mar 2013.

1. Elledan

Elledan What's a Dremel?

After recently landing myself a new job as an (iOS) developer, I find myself wondering again what the true value of education is, at least as far as IT goes.

I'm one of those truly self-taught developers. Started programming 'for fun' in the early 90s, discovered C++ in the late 90s, attempted IT course at college but dropped out due to sheer boredom. Currently I'm landing senior developer jobs with ease, even taking on duties I have had no real exposure to before, such as my current iOS development tasks. All thanks to a nicely padded resume.

Is there truly any value in following a programming/IT course at a college or university, or should you just wing it in your spare time? I have heard people say that those who have followed an official course use the 'proper' techniques, but I'm not sure I'd agree with that. Looking at my own experiences I'd say that those who are self-taught generally have had a much broader exposure to different approaches and thus tend to pick what's right for a project.

What's your take on this?

2. KidMod-Southpaw

KidMod-Southpaw Super Spamming Saiyan

I personally think there's value in being self taught anything, especially after still experiencing the modern school system.

If you teach yourself, you make the mistakes, you do things right and you enjoy it yourself, is that not better in most cases?

3. RedFlames

RedFlames ...is not a Belgian football team

Everything I've learned myself I can still remember...

Most of what i was taught at school I've forgotten...

4. Bogomip

Bogomip ... Yo Momma

Self taught is fine, and great for what you need - but you dont usually experience the depth you get on courses, which expose you to a massive array of different things.