1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Overclocking Overclocking 8800 series

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by wgy, 23 Mar 2009.

1. wgy

wgy What's a Dremel?

Aloha, :blush: would anybody be kind enough to give me the overclocking "low down?"

Is overclocking a graphics card under the right temprature conditions;

1, reletaivly safe? (ie, no blowing up, or dying instantly)

2, worth the hassle?

3, gaining a noticeble amount of preformace?

Im new to GPU overclocking, and my aging 8800gts 640mb could do with a boost.

would the £20 thermalright cooler be worth the preformance gains??

gunna check out benchmarks now, but if anyone could help, it would be much apreciated.

2. mm vr

mm vr The cheesecake is a lie

1. Should be pretty much.

2. Could be, it's relatively easy but doesn't give much performance gain. But your e-peen will sure be larger. :)

3. Usually not.

3. Burnout21

Burnout21 Mmmm biscuits

generally what we did in the past was to overclock the low end cards with in a series to the top end cards speeds.

Like an Ati 9800pro to XT speeds, and Nvidia 6800GT to Ultra speeds.

It use to be much easier as the cards weren't that much different.

Now when talking about a 8800GTS 640 that was and is pretty much the top end card because the 8800GTX is a different PCB even tho they both use the G80 core, your still missing a munp of memory.

In short use the card as much as possible and forget overclocking it as there is hardly any difference tbh. When you start getting a slow down just upgrade, its far less hassle.

Right now the 8800GTS 640 has a good second hand price still as some people are looking for a phyixs card or another to SLI with. Grab a 4850 or 4870 after selling and you'll be good for another year or so of gaming. lol!

Krikkit likes this.
  4. Krikkit

Krikkit All glory to the hypnotoad! Super Moderator