1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Scratch Build – In Progress Wall Mount Case

Discussion in 'Project Logs' started by bfelda, 29 Jun 2009.

1. bfelda

bfelda ____

This project started out when I realized that the only item my tv stand was being used for was to hold my media center PC. I thought about using extenders, but I also do gaming on this machine. So two years ago I set out to find a wall mount computer case that the wife approved.
    From the initial searches, all I could find were laptop mounts and large metal boxes that held pc components. I needed something in the living room that was aesthetically pleasing. So I decided to design my own.
    I took this concept to some local guru's, and they showed interest. So I designed this product with ease of installation in mind, as I figured I may be making this thing for them too. My background is the installation and manufacturing of security systems, which get mounted in the wall. I took my knowledge, and known difficulties, from that industry and applied some key concepts to this product. Also, I want this case to accomodate most standard enthusiast parts, like full size ATX EPS power supplies, monster Graphics cards, at least 2 hard drives, and ATX Motherboards. Unfortunately, with the size restriction I have between wall studs (14.5") one of these had to suffer, so I bumped the motherboard requirement down to Micro-ATX.
    The product was designed in Solidworks, and brought over to 3d Studio Max to make sure it would look nice in the environment I was going for. The pics and video below were made in 3d Studio Max

The pic below is from an early design, many of the finalized parts are not figured out here yet.

[​IMG]

This following pictures are artist renderings of what the products will look like when complete.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

As long as I was in 3dStudio, I threw together a video showing the parts installing into place.