1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Windows Windows 7 RAM usage issues

Discussion in 'Tech Support' started by Rat1sully, 18 Feb 2010.

1. Rat1sully

Rat1sully At Least Skt478 Never Broke

i'm doing a degree in electrical engineering so i know far too much about how they work to an atomic level but i still seem to learn new things the more i delv

that's a good idea hadn't looked at a bios updat though i'm not sure that'll do anything for the memory as the controller in on the cpu, however won't hurt to give it a go

2. Denis_iii

Denis_iii What's a Dremel?

not sure what your pagefile is set to but might be worth trying
    1. set pagefile min/max to equal the total amount of RAM
    2. set pagefile to default of auto and keep it on your c:\

have you checked your ram timings? i'm sure i read about a settin you can disable in win7 which will stop it pre-fetching commonly used applications/access files....but i'm leaning towards a issue between M$'s code and chipset drivers on this as some ppl are affected whilst others aren't.

+1 to bios update + driver updates

3. Rat1sully

[​IMG]

thats what i've got my page file set to, don't see the harm in is as c and d are just partitions on the same drive so stuck it on e where there is plenty of space to avoid any performance hit (an old habit)

4. Jux_Zeil

Jux_Zeil What's a Dremel?

I am shocked at the system recomending a 6GB pagefile. The only slight problem that I can see with that is the thrashing that drive must have to do bacause of all the partitions. I'm probably going to get W7 so I'll let you know if I get the same problem but in the nean time you could check with M$ technet.com and see what they say.
    sorry we couldn't get this one sorted quickly for you.

5. Rat1sully

OK I've come to the conclusion that it only notably does this when downloading things with Flashget so going to look into that angle

6. nitrous9200