1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Linux Difference Between Ubuntu AMD64 and i386?

Discussion in 'Software' started by DeafGamer2015, 19 Jan 2011.

1. DeafGamer2015

DeafGamer2015 Minimodder

hey i was wondering.. whats the difference between Unbuntu 10.10 AMD64 and i386?? cuz im a bit confused on those 2...

Thanks for taking a read to this and confirm this future Ubuntu's user's question

2. dancingbear84

dancingbear84 error 404

No expert but I am guessing it is to do with the Kernels for the CPU's ie whether they are AMD 64 bit proc's or Intel 32 bit... May be wrong mind as I am a Linux noob myself

3. thehippoz

thehippoz What's a Dremel?

install the 64 bit version http://www.ubuntu.com/desktop/get-ubuntu/download

one build is for amd and the other intel.. new linux users just like punching themselves in the face for days installing drivers though- so have fun xD

get samba working too- can have network shares in windows then while punching yourself in the face modifying obsolete drivers to compile to get it all working :D

then hang upside down on a swingbar and have someone kick your face up around the back of your ass

4. danielmartind

danielmartind What's a Dremel?

AMD64 is 64 bit and i386 is 32 bit as far as I am aware. They work on both Intel and AMD systems. AMD created the spec for the current 64 bit architecture so some refer to it as AMD64.

5. dancingbear84

dancingbear84 error 404

Hence the recent lawsuit and countersuit between and and Intel.

6. DeafGamer2015

DeafGamer2015 Minimodder

Dude the hanging upside down on a swing bar comment.. not cool...

7. DeafGamer2015

DeafGamer2015 Minimodder

you mean AMD and Intel right?

8. Gryphon

Gryphon What's a Dremel?