1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Steam Please help! - Games won't launch

Discussion in 'Gaming' started by Rowland, 25 Feb 2011.

1. Rowland

Rowland PC Gamer

I'm new to Steam - Purchased Divinity II: DKS from the site but can't launch the game. Then decided to install & play Fallout: New Vegas from my DVD but somehow it installed in steam... & I can't launch the game or re-install without Steam...

1) Any ideas on how I can get the games to launch? Drivers,OS up to date, tried the validate games cache in properties, running various files as Administrator etc.. but nothing seems to work.

2) Can I get rid of Steam and re-install FNV ? I'd prefer to get it working tho....

I'm on Windows 7. GPU - ATI Radeon HD5970

Thanks !:wallbash:

Last edited: 25 Feb 2011
  2. Blademrk

Blademrk Why so serious?

in answer to question 2, I think FNV is a steamworks game, so you won't be able to run it without steam.

Edit: Steamworks being the DRM tied to Fallout: Nev Vegas.

3. outlawaol

outlawaol Geeked since 1982

That seems really odd. You logged in as admin? What happens exactly?

4. jcrider

jcrider Minimodder

5. paisa666

paisa666 I WILL END YOU!!!

Pls tell us what error message do you get when you try to launch a game!!!

cheers

6. Rowland

Rowland PC Gamer

thanks for responding Guys.

What happens is that the game prepares to launch - a dialogue box comes up then it disapears and the blue action circle next to the cursor disappears and nothing happens. Been on lots of forums and this is a very common problem - the most popular solution is the verify game cache option in properties but it always comes up with 1 invalid file called installscript.VDF - i've tried deleting/re-installing etc but nothing works.....

7. AndyCubb

AndyCubb Victory is mine!

From the very beginning, are you running it from steam ie. clicking "play" in steam or running FNV.exe from the Fallout folder for example?