1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Build Advice Building new rig and looking for some advice - Updated with pictures

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Sarneus, 30 Sep 2011.

1. Sarneus

Sarneus What's a Dremel?

Hi guys, I'm new to the forums. I have been putting off building a new PC for a few months now, but finally I have the cash and the time to get to it so I'm looking for some advice.
    I'll start with the usual stuff

Budget: between £1000 and £1200
    Main uses of intended build: Gaming, and maybe some video editing
    Parts required: everything in the tower except storage drives, don't need any peripherals
    Previous build information (list details of parts): My current PC is over 3 years old, and the only parts i'm planning on keeping are a couple of HDD (1TB and 2TB)
    Monitor resolution: 1920x1080 (dual monitors
    Storage requirements: like i said above, storage is not a problem
    Will you be overclocking: Probably in the future, but not straight away

So there are a few components that I am already set on since I've done enough research on them, but I still have a lot of question regarding other stuff.

The stuff that I am pretty much sure I will get is:

CPU: Intel i7-2600k
    Mobo: MSI P67A-GD53
    Case: Coolermaster HAF 922

The rest I'm still undecided on:

RAM: 8Gb DDR3 1866MHz - I was going to go for the Corsair Vengeance but I also wanted to get the be quiet! Dark Rock Pro as my CPU cooler, but after seeing some pictures I'm pretty sure the Vengeance coolers won't fit under it. Which is where my first question comes from, do you think I should just find another brand of RAM that actually fits or get a different CPU cooler??

SSD: any SATA III SSD with more than 100GB
    PSU: Modular for sure and at least 750W