1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Cases Difference between a "silent" case and a regular case - how significant?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Zener Diode, 7 Feb 2015.

1. Zener Diode

Zener Diode User Title

I have a coolermaster HAF 932 and it's quite loud even when it's just idling. Realistically, 99% of the time, my pc isn't doing anything intense so I feel like I'm wasting the cooling potential of the case and putting up with a lot of noise for nothing. Skype calls all pick up the loud droning even though I've set up my mic to mitigate it. Cases like the Fractal Design Define R4 or Nanoxia Deep Silence 1 are supposed to be quiet, but how much quieter are they really? I have 4 hard drives, an evga GTX770 with ACX cooler, a titan fenrir, and a corsair psu, so all of those things will be making noise, and then there are the case fans. I find it hard to believe that a new case will really make a huge difference; is it worth it?

2. Blogins

Blogins Panda have Guns

A well designed case will dampen sound but not eliminate it. For instance, my Fractal R3 has rubber grommets that rest against the HDD so the sound doesn't transmit through the case. Also the sound proofing material certainly muffles the sound from fans but if the fan is spinning fast and noisily it will still be audible. In summary a good case is part of the solution to a silent PC but not the entire solution!

3. CrapBag

CrapBag Multimodder

I don't think there is any such thing as a silent case, it's the fans you put in it that matter.

My daughter had a Haf 912 with 2 200mm fans plus a 120mm fan and it was anything but loud.

4. MSHunter

MSHunter Minimodder

Nanoxia Deep Silence fans are whisper quite. When I used on my H80 the loudest thing in my case was my WD red which is a quite HDD to begin with.

5. lilgoth89

lilgoth89 Captin Calliope

any case can be 'silent' simply by removing all the fans ;)