1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Other Bojo proroguing this parliamentary session and the queen...

Discussion in 'General' started by Boscoe, 28 Aug 2019.

1. Boscoe

Boscoe Electronics extraordinaire.

I am just a layman when it comes to politics, FYI. I've always had a problem with the royal family, I love them, I feel it's something special about the UK but my rational side says it's really not okay to have royals on the books. It's really contradictory to this country and how we are (maybe) world leaders. Now, she has just gone along with Bojo's plan. Did she really think it's the right thing to do? We'll never know. Did she have any other choice but to agree? No. And this is my second problem, she's useless and costs loads of money. Those who say she makes this country what it is is really disrespecting all the hard working individuals who actually keep the pace of progress in society moving, by keeping her status she's holding it back...

2. Wakka

Wakka Yo, eat this, ya?

Doesn't the tourism revenue alone dwarf what it actually costs the taxpayer to "run" the royal family?

Mr_Mistoffelees likes this.
  3. David

David μoʍ ɼouმ qᴉq λon ƨbԍuq ϝʁλᴉuმ ϝo ʁԍɑq ϝμᴉƨ

Indeed - how about we just let the royals be tourist attractions and nothing else.

Weekly_Estimate likes this.
  4. Wakka

Wakka Yo, eat this, ya?

That's what Madame Tussauds is for, surely? :p

5. Mister_Tad

Mister_Tad Will work for nuts Super Moderator

Aforementioned tourism stuff, and does she actually have a say?
    Outside of all the pomp and circumstance, her role is to go along with the PM's plan when she must be consulted, surely. When's the last time she's ever gone against the grain or called an audible?

6. Goatee

Goatee Multimodder

Exactly. They are ceremonial and that's it.

Short of locking the doors and getting Phil to shout through the letter box "one is not in" she always had to go along with it.