1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Modding N64 mod

Discussion in 'Modding' started by thriteenthmonkey, 6 Mar 2006.

1. thriteenthmonkey

thriteenthmonkey What's a Dremel?

I have an old N64 mobo left over from a project that I attempted a few years ago that never quite got off the ground, and I finally decided to put it to good use. This is my first case build but I have lots of experience in metal working in the nature of the FIRST robotics competition.

These are some conceptual images of the case I will be building for it
    [​IMG]
    This is the superstructure I will be using for the case. The dimensions are 7X7X3. The bottom and verticals are 1/8th inch 3X1 channel aluminum. The top is two 1X1 bars of channel aluminum. This will allow enough space for my top loading mechanism.All of the bars will be mitered where they meet at the corners for maximum sexyness. They will then be riveted onto 1/10th or 1/16th aluminum side panels.
    [​IMG]
    This is the front/side view.
    On the top you can see the on switch or button I will be using and the reset button, the power LED is in the middle.
    I decided that I would scrap the standard N64 controller ports for something a bit more sexy. I think that 1/4 inch stereo audio plugs should do it.
    Also on the side you can see where I plan to mount a fan because I removed the giant heat sink that the N64 usuaully uses to cool it's self
    [​IMG]
    Here is the back. I plan to use a standard computer power port (bottom) to bring power in (the psu will be internal). Above that we have the AV out. I plan to scrap the standard AV out and go with a 9 pin serial port. Finally at the top I have the two (or possibly just one) small fans to bring the air out the back.

Here is what I have so far.
    [​IMG]