Project C3PO - My Linux jukebox

Discussion in 'Project Logs' started by papeniglio, 8 Apr 2004.

1. DjFuzz

DjFuzz What's a Dremel?

El_Angelo Thanks for the Link m8! Just needed this 1 i'm going to read your guide!:D. I'm Just a NOOB in linux, i'm only experienced with windows and a little dos but thats all!:worried:

Edit:
    Is this 1 even as fast as the linux installation described by the author of this thread. I would like the computer really fast!

Last edited: 15 Apr 2004
  2. papeniglio

papeniglio Minimodder

Yeah, I've seen your site and it's really well done!!! Thanks for the link. :)

3. papeniglio

papeniglio Minimodder

Thanks Sc0rian,
    the LCD was bought from Modwarehouse because I was not able to find a blue LCD in Italy. It was quite an adventure, but at last they sent it to me... They're having a lot of troubles with their site in these days....

4. papeniglio

papeniglio Minimodder

HDD/DVD TRAY

The mounting of the HDD and DVD-ROM was the trickies part of the project, but I was so lucky to get all the parts fitted with a little work.... :)

My first idea was to use the RAM module and an edge on the front panel as a base for the tray; I made a rough test with a piece of plexy and found that I had to stack the things in this order:

Code:

---- DVD-ROM
         ---------- double sided tape
    ---- HDD
         ---------- screws
    ---- plexy

So I modelled a plain tray for the HDD and drilled four holes for the screw:

[​IMG]

Here is a test of the tray in its place:

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

I tested the position for the DVD too:

[​IMG]

Everything seemed ok, but I have one problem here: how can I fix the tray to the box? The first thought was to use some double sided tape on the front panel edge and on the RAM.... really quick and it can work surely, but it's not so good if I have to remove the tray for maintenance......