1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Asus P5B Integrated Audio Problems

Discussion in 'ASUS' started by Lord Blobbery, 25 May 2011.

1. Lord Blobbery

Lord Blobbery Curious.

Greetings!
    I've recently run into an increasingly irritaing problem with my aforementioned mobo's integrated sound. With increasing frequency, my computer boots with the playback devices section of the windows volume control saying that the speakers are unplugged. The first time this happened led to the (hopefully erronous) conclusion that ME2 was to blame - after having left it unplayed for several months, I started playing again after downloading the latest story DLC, whereupon the sound (specifically the voices) became hideously quiet and tinny. The next time I booted my computer, the "This device is not plugged in" problem occurred. I redownloaded and reinstalled the latest sound driver, and the problem was fixed. However, the problem has returned at least seven times in the last two months. Each driver reinstall fixes the issue.

Come to think of it, the audio jacks on the rear I/O have never worked. Not sure if that's relevant. Speakers are plugged into the headphone jack at the front of the case.

I bought the mobo second-hand about five years ago (don't know how long the previous owner used it for), and am running Vista 64-bit (reformatted last October).
    Is there any way to fix this issue on a more permanent basis, or should I just pin the issue on the integrated sound and get myself a dedicated sound card (been looking for an excuse to do that for some time)?

2. Guest-16

Guest-16 Guest

3. Lord Blobbery

Lord Blobbery Curious.