1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Other Moving back to the UK, employment question (for the South-west)

Discussion in 'General' started by Kaihonsou, 11 Jul 2015.

1. Kaihonsou

Kaihonsou What's a Dremel?

Hello forum.

I moved to Ireland from the UK about 8 years ago. One marriage and divorce later, I plan on coming back.

I am acclimatised to the Dublin job-market, but not so much on the UK (especially the South-West, and would probably be living in Bath and wouldn't mind commuting to Bristol via public transport).

I am fairly new to the IT field after years of retail but have a few good certs (A+, Net+, Sec+ and CCNA, currently studying for the Linux+ and some Python on the side). I currently work in a busy NOC support as 1st line, helping to support DSL to dedicated 100mb licensed radio, RPR Fibre, metro wireless (DOCSIS 2.0) and loads more.

I know I could quit tomorrow and find a (although shittier but better paid) 1st line support role in Dublin. The Dublin employment market is really tough, so am I OK assuming that once the CV is good, I could swan over back to Bath and pick up a decent (£23k per annum) job easily?

The more I think about it, the more it looks like a stupid question, but these are jitters before a massive move for me, so please be gentle.

On a sidenote, I used to to be active on this forum over 10 years ago. Asking this here, its like the first step!

Kai.

2. Behemoth

Behemoth Timelord in training

Living in Weston-super-Mare, the job market here is pretty awful. I haven't looked at Bristol to be honest but I suspect there are more IT jobs there than where I am.

If you see any jobs advertised by a company called Agilisys, run a mile, then a further 1,000 miles just to be sure. They are my current employers, they are so draconian its un-real, you WILL get disciplined for sickness even if its backed up a Doctors note.

3. Kaihonsou