1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Photos Please help me choose a camera!

Discussion in 'General' started by Pete J, 25 Jul 2017.

1. Pete J

Pete J Employed scum

Hi all,

I'm going on holiday to South Africa in two weeks and I need to get a camera as I don't think my phone will cut it. I was hoping to borrow my brother's, but he's backed out (the little git).

All I know is that I need a lens that goes up to 300mm for long range shots. I don't care about the format of the camera (DSLR or compact), just that I can get good long distance shots without having to do much as I'm no expert photographer! Also, I'm keen to try to keep things as cheap as possible. I've had a quick look at the Nikon D3300 and it looks as though I would have to spend ~£400, but if there was any way to keep this to ~£200, that would be good!

Please help me!

2. Gareth Halfacree

Gareth Halfacree WIIGII! Lover of bit-tech Administrator Super Moderator Moderator

If you're willing to spend your £400 top-end budget and £50 on top, the Nikon Coolpix P900 would be my recommendation simply because you're looking for long-range stuff. It has an 83x telephoto lens on it, equivalent to 24-2000mm in 35mm terms. Scroll down to 'Focal Range' and you'll see how ridiculous that is.

I've been thinking about picking one up myself for events, instead of packing my usual 75-300mm telephoto for my D3200 - but I'm not sure I could squeeze the D3200 and the P900 into my current bag...

3. veato

veato I should be working

How do you feel about used equipment? CW have an Olympus E-PM1 for £200 with both the 14-42mm and 40-150mm lenses. As this is a Micro 4/3rds sensor the focal length is effectively doubled so in 35mm terms the lenses are 28-84mm and 80-300mm. The Micro 4/3rds sensor is bigger than anything you'll get in a compact 'superzoom' for £200-£400 and the body is very compact and light.

And it has a 6 months warranty.