1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Cooling Basic Water Cooling Question

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Tumbledown, 29 Nov 2005.

1. Tumbledown

Tumbledown What's a Dremel?

Hi there
    I'm new to modding, new to water cooling and new to this forum.. Please be gentle :D

I'm tempted to do a water cool mod to my rig, however I have a few concerns.

My wife has bannished me and all my kit into the attic as she has no interest in seeing, let alone using any sort of computer equipment :duh: .

This is not a problem during the winter months at the attic is quite cold,
    However during the summer months it gets real hot. How hot i hear you ask?

Well i haven't taken a temp measurement, but in the hight of summner I can
    break a sweat within 5 min, just by sitting down.
    I have installed an AC unit but it dosn't come on automatically as the temp rises.
    I forgot to power it on and a few of my servers shut off as it reached the bios temp threshold.

I'm worried that the system will work fine during the winter, but fry my processosr in the summer!!!! :eeek:
    Any suggestions???

2. felix the cat

felix the cat Spaceman Spiff

insulate the roof??

as it is at the top of the house, and thus with heat rising, and it being a perfect space for the heat to get trapped, it can get very hot indeed (i know ours gets up to mid thirties to fourties)....so yeah, insulating hte roof, would probably not only save you a lot on heating/cooling down in the future, but also stop your pcs/servers from shutting down..

3. phuzz

phuzz This is a title

I was in the same situation as you last summer, so my first words of warning are: Cool your harddrives! Your pc hitting the shutdown temp and switching off is annoying, your hard-drive getting perminant errors is worse, trust me :(