1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Building Help - Complete Noob

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Revilo, 12 Apr 2006.

1. Revilo

Revilo What's a Dremel?

Thanks.

Oh another question that's been bugging me:
    Once I finish putting all the hardware together into a PC, what happens when I start it up? How am I supposed to get the windows interface up?

If that was unclear, let me clarify... Let's say I turn on the PC once it's built. What will happen and what do I do to get windows xp and the drivers installed?

2. Lemur 6

Lemur 6 What's a Dremel?

Oh that's easy. The first time you boot up, it'll either thow you into a semi DOS mode if your hard disk is formatted, or it'll just give an error telling you there isn't an operating system found.

What you'll need to do if it isn't set up like this already is go into the BIOS and change the boot sequence to boot from CD first (most motherboards are set at this as default nowadays). Then stick your Win XP CD into your DVD drive, and reboot, and windows starts doing its thing. Asks you how to partition your drives and how to format them, starts pluggin away, and in something like 15 minutes time or less you'll see windows load for the first time on your PC.

Hope that was helpful.

-L6

3. Revilo

Revilo What's a Dremel?

It was, thank you. Everyone, thanks a lot. I think this is a very realistic project for me. You guys made me really want to get started on this. I'm only 15 right now so I need to sell my parents on this before I start. Hopefully by the time I'm through with college, I can mod and stuff. :)

4. padrejones2001

padrejones2001 Puppy Love