1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Cooling Help me water cool my opteron?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by s29feb, 9 Apr 2006.

1. s29feb

s29feb What's a Dremel?

I have the following setup:

Opteron 170 with 2GB Ballistix on an Abit AN8 Ultra and a Dual Slot 7800GTX all residing in a Gigabyte 3D Aurora case.

The opty is under an Arctic Freezer 64 Pro which was excellent for my 3700 SD but the 170 is mega toasty and idles high 30's but goes into high 40's low 50's when at load/gaming.

Therefore I have decided to stick it under water and had looked at some all in one kits - the Thermaltake BigWater 735 or the Gigabyte 3D Galaxy. I'm a watercooling noob so the idea of a kit appeals and I don't require a GFX solution because the dual slot cooler is excellent and quiet.

Thersfore I think I'm looking for an all in one pump/res, a 120mm rad and a 939 block. I would like it to be as easy as possible with pushfits etc and to remain as quiet as possible.

The case has excellent airflow/thermal properties and I wonder if this is enough for the moffsets etc as a Normal HSF does some of the cooling for this, and they do get toasty with the opty? This is why I was swaying towards the 3D Galaxy but can all you experts suggest me someting better?

Edit: Sorry forgot to add that the Opty is currently running stock Volts but clocked at 2.5 :thumb:

2. Glider

Glider /dev/null

Is this hot? Wow, then my pc must be cooking... Idle 45ish...

OT: There are plenty good kits out there, the sticky might help you out (otherwise Nexxo and the likes will), but I want to make sure you know what you are doing. WC isn't going to lower your temps a lot, it is just going to lower your difference between idle and load temps. Not that they are bad now, low 50's is acceptable. Also, WC add's a lot of complexity to the whole PC. WC isn't something you should plunge in blindfolded...

3. s29feb

s29feb What's a Dremel?