1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Budget System - Advice needed!

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by LOI_Kratong, 6 May 2006.

1. LOI_Kratong

LOI_Kratong What's a Dremel?

Hi, I have never built an entire system before but would like to start now. I've found some good tutorials on the 'net, but yould like some advice on what components I need, having only bought complete systems before and upgraded basic things like memory and harddrives.

I have about £350 to spend (about $650) and I'm looking to make a fairly basic system, nothing too fancy in the graphics or sound departments, but I want it to be fairly beefy in terms of the cpu and ram, and I'm pretty insistent on having (at least) two screens. The harddrive needn't be too large (I can expanded it as I go). I'm mostly going to be using it for programming on *nix (C++ and coding in HTML, PHP, and PERL). Can anyone suggest the components that I should investigate?

Also, is a 64-bit system worth the effort as a first system, or shall I just stick to a plain ol' 32-bit one?

Thanks in advance for the help :D ,
    LOI Kratong

2. hitman012

hitman012 Minimodder

Hi, welcome to Bit-Tech :)

£350 is a tight budget for a good power supply, processor, motherboard RAM and graphics card. You can clip off £50 for a cheap dual-head graphics card (Radeon X1300/GeForce 6200) and case, which leaves us with £320 to spend on the main bits.

For that, I'd recommend 1GB of Crucial/Corsair/GeIL value RAM, an Athlon 64 3500+, a Tagan/Antec/Seasonic 350W power supply and an Abit AN8-Ultra/Asus A8N-E motherboard.

Any cheap graphics card won't have a problem with two screens now - just pick up one of the aforementioned cards, both of which will give you crisp enough output for dual monitors.