1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Which RAM/PSU for E6400

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Superlunchbox, 27 Dec 2006.

1. Superlunchbox

Superlunchbox What's a Dremel?

Hey guys,
    I was just curious as to which RAM/PSU I should be looking at purchasing for the following rig:

Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 Conroe Processor
    MSI GeForce 8800GTX
    Nvidia 680i SLI ATX motherboard
    Lian Li V1200B Plus II Black Aluminum ATX Mid Tower Computer Case
    Western Digital Raptor 36.7GB 10000RPM HDD (I already have it, so don't recommend I get a 400Gig for the OS)
    NEC 18X Optical Drive
    Logitech MX Revolution
    ZALMAN 9700 LED 2 Ball CPU Cooler - Retail

I was looking at the Corsair Dominator Series TWIN2X2048-6400C3DF 2GB for the RAM. I'm new to Intel, and not sure how they compare to AMD, but my biggest concern is what I've been reading. Is it true that I don't really need high end ram to overclock the 6400? I'm trying to get the most bang for my buck here, and I want to overclock the E6400 to at least 3.0GHz on the 680i board. From what I've read this should be achievable. What kind of ram would I need as a minimum to do it. Also, I'm looking for a PSU that is modular to power this machine, and possibly SLI in the future. Thanks in advance for any insight.

Last edited: 27 Dec 2006
  2. Mighty Yoshimi

Mighty Yoshimi Motormouth

Something like an Enermax 600W, (assuming you are running one card, but if you insist on SLI readyness, i'm not sure but you might need an 800w+)

Ram I use GSkill PC6400 HZ 2GB (2*1GB) Very good for overclocking.

I noticed you mentioned the E6400 then the E6300 which one are you getting?

3. Superlunchbox

Typo, 6400, 6300 doesn't have a high enough multiplier from what i've read, and it's only like $40 cheaper on newegg anyways.

[edit- fixed it in original post]

4. Mighty Yoshimi