1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Building a PC - First time build

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Major, 14 Mar 2007.

1. Major

Major Guest

Well exactly what it says in the title. :)

Just received my parts from SCAN and everything is good to go I hope.. Now i Havbe an option on waiting on a friend to build it when he has time, or I Have the option of me building it. I have never built a PC before, not even installed XP onto a machine, so in this case I am a complete utter n00b.

:)

Now the PC isn't cheap, cost me just under £1500. So if something goes wrong, then it is a lot of money gone down the drain. So I am wondering, how easy is this to do? And if so is there any online pic guids to help me? I would also like to point out that I'm going to be doing RAID0 on towo 320GB drives, and one drive as backup. Again I have no idea on these things.

So should I explore the art of building, or leave it to the expert? ;)

Thanks.

Maj

2. trig

trig god's little mistake

well, let me ask you....do you have an anti-static strip? if the answer is no...then wait on ur buddy...

3. Major

Major Guest

Can I ask what is this? I thought putting your fingure on a plug would get rid of static?

4. Hazardous

Hazardous What's a Dremel?

You'd best wait for your mate by the sounds of it :idea:

At least you'll then be able to watch what he's doing (even help where possible), so you'll at least have an idea how to go about doing things for yourself at a future date ;)

5. nry

nry Minimodder

Is a earthed wrist strap which removes static from your body.

If you have such an expensive computer I wouldn't recommend using it for your first built. Although building a computer is not hard, do a google search and there are plenty of guides out there.

The most difficult bit of building a computer is the software, such a pain to get working properly.

6. Major

Major Guest

Yes that's what I thought,