1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Windows How to set up SLi on Windows Vista?

Discussion in 'Software' started by Teh C, 25 Dec 2007.

1. Teh C

Teh C Arg

I know on XP all you did was go into the nVidia control panel and checked the box, but I'm totally clueless on how you'd do this in Vista, as its my first time using it today. :confused:

2. Guest-16

Guest-16 Guest

Right click on desktop - Nvidia control panel - same place.

:)

Display settings are a right click on desktop - properties, then MS stupidly decided to split everything up rather than leave it in tabs :(

3. Teh C

Teh C Arg

Sorry if i'm being an idiot but I get this control panel, i've checked through everything on the left where it says 'Select a Task...' and I still can't find anything. :eyebrow:

I'm on Home Premium if that helps.

4. Guest-16

Guest-16 Guest

What NV card and drivers are you running? It should be pretty obvious in 3D settings

5. Smilodon

Smilodon The Antagonist

Why did they do that anyway? It's actually less effective than the tabs in XP. The less new windows, the better IMO.

6. Teh C

Teh C Arg

Im using two 8600GT's my friend had before he got a 8800GT. The Properties say the driver is 7.15.11.6222

Edit: I just got the new drivers off nVidia's site, but nothing changed. This is what my nVidia control panel looks like by the way :

http://img258.imageshack.us/img258/1272/nvidiapx7.jpg

Last edited: 25 Dec 2007
  7. Guest-16

Guest-16 Guest

Go to the Nvidia site and download the latest Vista drivers.

You should have an SLI tab - what board are you running and have you used the SLI bridge?

8. Teh C

Teh C Arg

I got the latest drivers, yes I do have an SLi bridge (i'm only new to Vista, not to building computers), and my board is a Asus P5N-E Sli.

Look what GPU-Z says now. Only one Graphics Card and its obviously not in SLi :(

http://img146.imageshack.us/img146/4277/97544262rr7.jpg