1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Cooling First time watercooling - problem!

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Naked_Dave, 23 Jan 2009.

1. Naked_Dave

Naked_Dave What's a Dremel?

Just connected up my first watercooling setup and turned on the pc, only for it to turn back off again at the POST screen. I touched the cpu block to check it was working, and damn near melted my finger off.

The pump is vibrating, so i assume it's working, so what do you think is most likely to be the problem? :confused:

The loop has an aquatube res - DDC pump - thermochill 360 rad - aquacomputer cuplex HD cpu block - EK 8800 ultra block

2. ElThomsono

ElThomsono Multimodder

I'm no expert, but how does the res look? If it's your first build I'd expect some bubbles coming through etc; did you run it with the PC off to get all the air out of the system?

And can you see any signs of water actually flowing, as that's the only thing I can see failing to cool the CPU :confused:

3. Journeyer

Journeyer Minimodder

I'm with ElThomso on this one.
    When you first fire up a newly set up WC-loop you have to run it with the computer off for a while to flush all the air out, and, perhaps even more importantly, to check for leaks. Take it from a guy who, when he first went the WC way eight years ago, burnt a SCSI-board, a graphics card and a sound card due to leaks and a poorly set-up and planned loop.