1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Other Help: New Drill

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by MarkW7, 2 Feb 2009.

1. MarkW7

MarkW7 Total Noob

Hello all!

I currently want to get more into modding but the drill i have wont go through my case. So im going to need a new one thats powerfull enough to do so - I don't want to spend alot though.
    I already have a Jigsaw, anthing else i may need?

Thanks all.

2. ElThomsono

ElThomsono Multimodder

What size hole are you drilling, and are the bits sharp?

Most drills should be able to make it through thin steel / alu without any real bother, so pretty much any corded drill you can find should be good. 650 watts will go through anything ;)

3. MarkW7

MarkW7 Total Noob

Will mainly be fan holes wouldnt be drilling anything thicker than a case. Maybe occassional wood.

4. ElThomsono

ElThomsono Multimodder

Ah, fan holes, they take a bit of grunt. Just get a decent corded drill and it'll do fine for that, but if you're likely to use it for anything more (round the house stuff) it might be worth spending the extra for a good cordless drill.

5. MarkW7

MarkW7 Total Noob

Do i need a certain size adapters or anything with it, what am i looking for the voltage?

6. ElThomsono

ElThomsono Multimodder

Well presumable you already have the hole saws you're planning on using it with, all you have to do is make sure the chuck's big enough (most corded are 13mm whereas most cordless are 10mm) and that it's got enough power.

For a corded drill, as above ~650W is standard and more than powerful enough, but for a cordless it can vary by brand with a top end 14v drill besting a cheap 18v equivalent. Get something in that range though.

Your best bet is to wait for a good deal coming up on screwfix or axminster, or going into a local hardware store and asking for advice. You might even be able to haggle them down or get some free bits to go with it :thumb: