1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Windows Sources Of Lag

Discussion in 'Gaming' started by sammo1999, 29 Apr 2009.

1. sammo1999

sammo1999 What's a Dremel?

My brother and I started playing the free trial of LOTRO (he still lives with my parents' place, I'm off at college). We both have good systems that can play the game on maxed settings. Everything works fine for me. But the game is laggy for him. We both use Vista BTW (i think he has business edition).

1) Obviously my first suggestion was to turn down the graphics. He set everything on low, but still lag.

2) So I told him to do an internet speed test. He as 2.0 Mbps DSL, speed tests show his download speed at 1.5-2.0 Mbps regularly. Min system requirements say 56K (although I wouldn't want to try that)

3) He recently reformatted so I doubt virus/spyware is an issue. I had him reset the router and modem, and even try bypassing the router and connecting his PC straight to the modem while also disabling the windows firewall.

None of this helped. The lag is not so bad that its unplayable, but it takes the fun out of playing. I also think I had him upgrade his video card drivers but ill have to check on that.

Any ideas of other things to check/try?

Thanks for your help.

-Sammo1999

2. Krikkit

Krikkit All glory to the hypnotoad! Super Moderator

Is it laggy all the time? How do other games fare? Are his upload speeds crap?

3. Sir Digby

Sir Digby The Supprising Adventures

Are you using wireless?

I have many issues with lag while playing games but general internet use is fine, I suspect my issue is packet loss by the wireless

4. sammo1999

He hasn't really played any other games online lately, but last summer we both played quake wars on that internet connection with out issues.

He is on gigabit ethernet, not wired.

Upload speed is about 256 kbps.