1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

HTPC Need lots of help with HTPC build

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by ogi010, 1 Apr 2010.

1. ogi010

ogi010 What's a Dremel?

Hello my favorite online computer enthusiast community!

I don't often post here, but I go through the forums regularly, so much good info!

Anyway, I am considering building a HTPC. Being an engineering student, I have an appreciation for the quote "a designer knows he has achieved perfection, not where there is nothing left to add, but when there is nothing left, to take away."

That said, let's get down to some specifics!

I have a Windows Home Server box (phenomenal unit, highly recommend it!). On there I have loads of blu-ray rips, mp3s, FLAC files, and other various videos. I want to be able to play them back on my living room TV. I am planning on using windows 7, with arcsofts totalmedia theater software (it handles ripped blu ray playback nicely from what I've gathered).

I have no need for a large capacity storage, since most of everything will be streamed. I am considering the use of a small capacity SSD. I also will have no need for an optical drive (main desktop PC does my rips, just going to have to get creative on how I will install windows 7).

What I do need is a unit that is very queit, and preferably power efficient (and doesn't produce a lot of heat).

Need good audio output (I'm not a huge audiophile, but I would like to be able to take advantage of my FLAC ripped CDs)

Need HDMI output (I know nothing of graphics cards that output HDMI).

Need enough computing power to handle smooth playback o a 1080p bluray rip.

Preferably a very small case (although, small and quiet don't necessarily go hand in hand I know.
    I have a fair amount of money to work with, I am not on a strict budget.

Need a stable network controller (I know that they are generally reliable, but figure its worth throwing in).