1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Planning Watercool or not?

Discussion in 'Modding' started by AndyCubb, 28 May 2010.

?

Watercool or not?

Poll closed 4 Jun 2010.
  1. Aircool - build up to bigger and better

11.1%
  2. Go nuts - upgrade and watercool

85.2%
  3. Neither - sit back and leave it to the big boys!

3.7%
  1. AndyCubb

AndyCubb Victory is mine!

Ok....I have been building my own PC's for about 12 years and have always air cooled.

Up to now, I havn't been arsed with overclocking but am an constant gamer (much to the wifes dislike!) and like good kit (as best as budget can be) that is quiet and as cool as possible.

Since the time of Orac I have wanted to do my own custom case build but never had the time, money or balls to do it. I now (being all growded up!) have the money, balls (or indeed willing) and some time to give it a shot.
    Now, I dont have any machining tools and only have a small workspace so all the work will be by hand :dremel: and in relatively cramped conditions.

So, the question is, do I:
    A) (seeing as I am popping my case build cherry on this one) start relatively small and just design a case for my current air cooled PC?

B) Grab life by the scruff of the neck and just jump feet first into the unknown and go for a fully watercooled future rig?

The general idea of buying £1k+ worth of kit and then adding water into the mix scares the bejeezus out of me (warranties?). However the idea of having a fast PC that is near silent and very cool makes me hard! :baby:

So whats it to be guys, safe option and build up or drop trouser and lay a steamer on caution?

2. Editor22

Editor22 E22 | Hex-Gear

Hey Andy I would go crazy and jump straight into water cooling but then that me :) you need to weigh up the pro's and con's from both a performance point of view but also from a design one to.