1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Graphics I have a GTX480 - slightly underwhelmed - what to do next

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by mikemorton, 6 Nov 2010.

1. geoboy333

geoboy333 Sometimes I say something bright...

seeing as no ones mentioned it yet, is Vsync turned on in the games that run slowly? if so turn it off.

2. Teelzebub

Teelzebub Up yours GOD,Whats best served cold

If that was me I would first set the computer up right by removing one stick of ram and putting the 3 sticks in slot 1 / 3 / 5 the white ones.

Then going into the bios the MB intelliigent tweaker and manually setting the ram timings to the correct settings and volts.

Once thats done then make sure you have the latest Nvidia drivers.

And see how it is from there.

3. mikemorton

mikemorton Minimodder

Thanks again for all your input.

I have to admit I am not experienced enough with PCs to appreciate all the advice I'm being given - but thank you anyway.

The system specs I listed in my first post came from running a program called Speccy.

HARD DRIVES

I have Windows 7 and all my non-game programs running on the Velociraptor. There are more details from Speccy here:

WDC WD6000HLHX-01JJPV0 ATA Device
    Manufacturer Western Digital
    Form Factor GB/2.5- to 3.5-inch backplane adapter
    Business Unit/Brand Enterprise/WD VelociRaptor®
    RPM/Buffer Size or Attribute 10,000 RPM with 32 MB cache
    Serial Number WD-WX51C10S6249
    Interface IDE
    Capacity 586GB
    Real size 600,126,184,960 bytes

All my games are on the slower (I think), but larger Samsung HD103SJ ATA Device.

Two questions please:

:: With the drives I've got, am I using them the best possible way? I could swap Windows 7 onto the Samsung and vice versa if needed.