1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Planning G5 Case Mod - Yeah, another one

Discussion in 'Modding' started by ShiroiHusky, 1 May 2011.

1. ShiroiHusky

ShiroiHusky What's a Dremel?

Hey all! First post here although I've been a B-T & CPC reader for a long time.

This is my first attempt ever at doing a case mod, and apparently it's quite a challenge, but it should be fun!

I got the idea of trying my hand at modding a G5 case after skimming back through the modding archives here to Cyprio's 'AppleCore Duo' mod. The G5/Pro case has always been a symbol to me of great case design, and would be the perfect look for my next build.

I managed to pick a full G5 up from eBay for £80 as a spares/repair, which was good. The case has a few scrapes and scratches but nothing that a spot of paint wouldn't cover up.

My plan is to create a fully black G5 with silver edges, like so:
    [​IMG]
    with a similar front button to Cyprio's mod, but maybe white light instead of blue.

I want to have the power supply mounted at the top rear of the case, which I've seen done before, and the 9cm gap up there is just enough for a standard ATX PSU (86mm); however: I want to be able to use longer power supplies for a higher power machine, so 20cm long. Measuring this shows I'll only have an inch or so between the PSU and the back end of the DVD drive.

[​IMG]

Apologies for the low quality image, the lens on my proper camera's gone bust recently so I'm forced to use the phone :(

I have currently got a motherboard tray and rear IO panel from a larger Lian-Li case, with 8 slots and EATX capabilities. Although this is nice, I don't know if the G5 will be able to take this.

As you can (just) see in the picture, this panel -just- fits the case!