1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Networks Advice on Internet Provider

Discussion in 'Tech Support' started by alialias, 13 Sep 2011.

1. alialias

alialias What's a Dremel?

Hi, i'm a student moving into my first house in manchester, and i was wondering if anyone has any advice or links for service providers who are good for providing the speed they promise, and for providers who dont bottleneck certain types of traffic too.
    We don't have the option of fibre-optic :(
    Thanks a lot for any help!

2. Blazza181

Blazza181 SVM PLACENTA CASEI

O2 have always done pretty good ADSL deals.

I'd just check on Which? Magazine.

3. srgtherasta

srgtherasta Minimodder

plusnet all the way and one month contracts too if ye want.

4. Krazeh

Krazeh Minimodder

5. Soniclord

Soniclord What's a Dremel?

I second this Plusnet are bang on. Customer Support is in the U.K as well not in some Bangladeshi (can't understand what they say) Call Centre!

And Plusnet have a brilliant forum with dedicated staff. I can't recommend them highly enough.

6. Tibby

Tibby Back Once Again

I did BeUnlimited then O2 at Uni (when they got bought) and was never throttled due to high usage. Did the job.

7. MrWillyWonka

MrWillyWonka Chocolate computers galore!

BeUnlimited/O2 are excellent, in 4 years we've only had one downtime (30 mins) and speeds are never throttled and with a truly unlimited monthly usage it is a good ISP. In addition if you already have an O2 contract on your mobile phone you might be able to get a discount from the O2 store (we got a £7.50/mo discount).

However, being in a student house, will you be in the house over Summer? Most ISP's require a year's contract so PlusNet would be good for it's monthly contract but there is a £25 activation charge. However, are you planning on spending for a phone line rental? Virgin Media would require no phone line, but their service isn't that great.