1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

HTPC Talk to me about Raspberry Pi as XBMC HTPC

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by dynamis_dk, 3 Oct 2012.

1. dynamis_dk

dynamis_dk Grr... Grumpy!!

So I'm looking to hook up the little ones bedroom with a HTPC for general kids films etc duties.

TV had a HDMI I found out today so all systems go towards a Pi unit. I'm no stranger to XBMC as its my front end of choice for years now but I've no Pi experience.

I'm looking at video / music, ideally needs to be able to support 1080p mkv all provided over cat5.

To setup a complete unit what would I require?
    Anyone running one to comment on ease of setup, reliability, interfacing with remote etc?

2. Unicorn

Unicorn Uniform November India

I haven't done any remote interfacing with it yet and have barely had a chance to configure it properly and use it, but one of my Pi's is running XBMC in the living room and easily streams 720p Matroska video and high bitrate MP3s from my server to a 42" LCD TV. It's absolutely flawless, and the setup (so far) was simple enough.

What I needed;

- One rectangular slice of Raspberry Pi
    - An SDHC card
    - A copy of Raspbmc - http://www.raspbmc.com

Raspbmc does support 1080p playback, I just don't have much stuff in 1080, my library is mostly in 720p.

And as long as you already know how to or can follow simple instructions on how to create a bootable flash disk, you shouldn't have any problems. I had mine streaming within an hour, YMMV :thumb:

3. dynamis_dk

Sounds good. I've just had a though as I maybe only able to goto 720p as its a 28" Tv LCD so I doubt it will be full 1080p HD anyway.

Do you leave it connected to power 24/7 as I've read briefly on the Pi FAQ about its on off switch being if its powered up or not? I use S3 on my HTPC and wake from remote/LAN so its it a case of booting every time I use it? Whats the boot times like?

4. Unicorn