1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Build Advice Newbie build from scratch - 1500GBP

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by dozeyMonkey, 20 Dec 2012.

1. dozeyMonkey

dozeyMonkey What's a Dremel?

Budget:
    initially 1500 GBP for everything (rig, os, accessories)... although there might be an option to add a little more over the coming months for additional components.

Main uses of intended build:
    gaming, some database stuff (work), I dabble in making 3d models in blender etc.

Parts required:
    I've got an old keyboard... this is going to be a return to a decent desktop machine after too long making do with craptops so I'll be needing everything.

Previous build information (list details of parts):
    I'm a newbie at building a whole rig from scratch, but familiar with switching out basic components (boards, harddrives etc.) in builds a few years back (you know when the single cores were dying out... man I feel old saying that!). No real parts of any use these days to hand.

Monitor resolution:
    I'm quite keen on being able to support dual monitors of a decent resolution... although I'll probably start with only one due to space constraints on where this rig is going to live to start with. Might be an overcompensation to living on laptops but having a nice sized high res monitor would be excellent :D

Storage requirements:
    more space means i can be lazy with tidying up files ;) but I'm not a hoarder of musics or whatever so storage isn't of huge importance. SSD for boot and primary gaming would be good.

will you be overclocking:
    ... have never done it, but i like getting the most out of what I buy so will be hoping to push a little bit. Idiot proof and simple to achieve would be a benefit.

other requirements: