1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Modding A slew of n00b questions.

Discussion in 'Modding' started by Bionic_Tuna, 27 Jan 2002.

1. Bionic_Tuna

Bionic_Tuna What's a Dremel?

Well, I am new to case modding and would really like to get into it. I have a plan of what I want to achieve. I got some questions on what I need to do.

1. What is the best type of case to cut?
    2. What is the best tool for cutting?
    3. What materials are best for the window?
    4. Blow holes, where are the best spots for them?
    5. Are there any newbie guides?
    6. What is needed to paint a case?

That's about it, any replies would be wonderful. Thanks.

2. Tim S

Tim S OG

Welcome to the forums! :D

1. What is the best type of case to cut?

For a first project I would go with steel, as its not as expensive if you make a mess! Also I recommend getting a cheap case that you can practice on, you can pick them up for about £20

2. What is the best tool for cutting?

For most jobs, its gotta be a dremel with reinforced cutting disks, but for big areas such as a window, a jigsaw with good quality blades will be a much faster job, and about as neat.

3. What materials are best for the window?

You can pick up window kits from most good overclocking/ case modding stores, such as www.theoverclockingstore.co.uk and www.tekheads.co.uk

4. Blow holes, where are the best spots for them?

Over your PCI cards, sucking air in, and then on the roof of the case, blowing air out like a chimney

5. Are there any newbie guides?

There are plenty of guides on the main bit-tech site, also try other moddin sites such as www.virtual-hideout.net and www.moddin.net

6. What is needed to paint a case?

http://www.bit-tech.net/article/30/ everything you require is in there :D

Hope this helps you ;)

BiGGiE

3. LoopyJuice

LoopyJuice Astronomical

oo u are such a helpful young man biggie :D

4. linear

linear Minimodder