1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Other need a bit of help from a programming language

Discussion in 'Tech Support' started by dave_c, 16 Aug 2014.

1. dave_c

dave_c Minimodder

As all the tech heads are likely to be in here thought this would be the right place to ask :)

im trying to learn computer programming (self taught). i want to learn for robotics. a friend has suggested that i start with C# so at the moment thats what im going to do. i dont want to bug him with too many questions so thought i would ask here.

once im fairly proficient with C# should i then move onto C or C++ or some alternative? i want to be able to do things from the base up and make some fairly advanced robots. any help is appreciated.

Also im starting with the "for dummies" books but if anyone could suggest any alternatives i would really appreciate it.

thanks in advance.

2. theshadow2001

theshadow2001 [DELETE] means [DELETE]

This topic would probably be more appropriate in the General section as you don't have anything that requires tech support (just yet)

When I think hobby robotics I think Arduinos and Raspberry PIs. In the case of those devices as a programming language, C++ makes a little more sense.

In my mind C# is more for desktop applications for windows. C# makes doing things like using windows forms to create a GUI based application a bit easier than C or C++. In fact it makes a lot of things easier like database interaction, network comms etc. etc.

However, your goal is to interact with things like motors, encoders, get feedback from sensors not necessarily make windows applications. So you'll probably have to learn the C like language of the Arduino, or C/C++ or python to use a raspberry pi.