A/V Vinyl Out: Impossible Mod?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Gorguruga, 12 Oct 2003.

1. Gorguruga

Gorguruga What's a Dremel?

Is it possible to mod an old record player (no out sockets) with a 3.5mm (headphone) out socket. I want to connect the record player to my soundcard via 3.5mm lead for sampling audio into the pc directly from the record. How difficult is that mod, easy enough for a complete beginner?

2. Dark_Blender

Dark_Blender What's a Dremel?

If it sounds like it has just got an old larger plug you can buy adapters and still use it bro.

3. bard

bard Modding isn't what it used to be

You can't do it directly from the LP player, you need an amplifier (just use your stereo or something).

4. Gorguruga

But how do I connect the record player to the amplifier, it has no out sockets?

5. Dark_Blender

Dark_Blender What's a Dremel?

Wait, didnt you just want have the record player go INTO the computer? If so, your comp should have an input and your comp has an amp. For player directly to speakers youll need an amp.

6. penski

penski BodMod

Or you use a soundcard that has a dedicated phono level input ;)

And to A/V it goes.

*n

7. micb

micb Minimodder

Surly the record player you have must have a basic audio output.

You will need either a serperate phono pre amplifier, an amplifier with a phono pre amplifier or as penski says a sound card dedicated phono level input.

8. malcs

malcs oops! i put a hole in the ***** :(

what it has NO outputs whatsoever? as in it is a gramophone as in HMV?????? otherwise it think it may just have a cable going out to phono (two cables.. one white one red.. in this case you need a phono to 3.5" converter cable)

9. ShagBeard

ShagBeard What's a Dremel?