1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Raider

Discussion in 'Project Logs' started by Tech-Daddy, 28 Oct 2003.

1. Tech-Daddy

Tech-Daddy What's a Dremel?

Good evening folks...
    I guess after lurking around here for as long as I have, not posting and all... I should get of my duff and put the account to good use!

So, here we go.

This is my first project.

Background on what I am wanting to do:
    1) No case coverings. The project is to be strictly computer frame/chassis mobo and cables. No case coverings. I instituted this since:
    A) I wanted an open air case
    B) The case I was starting on did not have a lid! :naughty:
    C) Wanted to see if I could put my ideas in my head to work regarding cable management and hiding. I've read quite a bit, observed a ton, and now it is time for me to do something about it, and I thought that, "Without a cover, cable management will be at a premium! What better way to learn!"

2) Wanted a reflective frame to handle indirect lighting. Will be using EL rope predominantly, and wanted as much ambient/indirect lighting to have a subtle effect on the components. Not a harsh tube or strong but diffused LED, I want quantity of mid level lighting.

3) Wanted a case/mobo color scheme. Too many single tone machines out there. Wanted to change it up. So I chromed the case, and painted the mobo tray an adonized red (lemme tell you, that came out SWEET!!! :thumb: ).

4) Same color schemes to be used on the CD ROM. I have pulled the front bezel off of my Ricoh CD burner and painted it the cherry/maroon and then I pulled the eject button off, and chromed that. Then reinstaled the switch. I plan on chroming the metal case covers of the CD ROM, but I need to strip them off first and I have not had the time to perform this as of yet.