1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Build Advice Dual 4k monitors...for work!

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by GeordieStew, 8 Jul 2018.

1. GeordieStew

GeordieStew Minimodder

Hi

I'm looking to beef up a work PC for myself.

Currently probably a rubbish mobo and low end i7 maybe. 16GB of DDR3.

I'm a developer and would like more screen real estate. Aiming for 2 x 28" 4K monitors.

What do I need hardware wise? Better mobo (to take better graphics card)? Which graphics card at a minimum? (no gaming, no videos, just work)

Thanks

2. Zoon

Zoon Hunting Wabbits since the 80s

If you’re not gaming and not rendering you don’t need much. Your current GPU might even do it. Just check the specs to see how many panels of what resolution it’ll drive.

More CPU and more RAM will allow your stuff to compile faster or allow some VMs for parallel testing. And more RAM is never a bad idea. Max it out if you can. But if you’ve already got an i7 of any generation you probably won’t gain much for this workload.

3. GeordieStew

GeordieStew Minimodder

I don't think existing gpu will handle it. And not sure mobo will take a modern gpu.

4. GeorgeStorm

GeorgeStorm Aggressive PC Builder

Why wouldn't your motherboard take a new gpu?

Listing your current specs would confirm stuff. But yeah, you shouldn't need a particularly high end gpu just to run 2 screens.

5. GeordieStew

GeordieStew Minimodder

Two 4k screens though?

Definitely not gaming on it. I'll take a look when I'm in the office tomorrow.

6. Zoon

As long as you have a PCI-E slot you can put pretty much any PCI-E graphics card in, so not sure why you're worried about that. They'll usually step down to PCI-E 2.0 which you probably have if you don't have 3.0.

In terms of GPU, a GT 1030 will drive the resolution on multiple screens. It's only desktop pixels? It's not like it's an intensive workload.

7. GeordieStew

GeordieStew Minimodder