1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Other Heathen Bicycle Spec Request

Discussion in 'General' started by Arboreal, 11 Dec 2018.

1. Arboreal

Arboreal Keeper of the Electric Currants

Forgive me, for I know not about these contraptions....
    My son has a birthday in 2 weeks and would like a road bike to replace his last cheap BSO from his early teens which died recently.
    I have little knowledge (and minimal interest...) in the technicalities of bike shopping, and I'm drowned in info online.
    I can spend up to £250 (tops), and realise that a good used one will be better than new, but would be led up the garden path on ebay or gumtree when it comes to buying one.
    He's going to be 18, riding it to school regularly, a couple of miles each way, and out and about when he's short of petrol money or out with his friends.
    So, it's nothing techinical, he's 5ft 11 and about 30inch inside leg for frame measuring .
    Over to you wise ones, or it's off to Halfrauds to buy a horror in a hurry!

2. fix-the-spade

fix-the-spade Multimodder

For £250 Halfords own Carrera brand bikes are surprisingly not awful. Granted they are not fantastic, but the weight is reasonable and they are made from proper materials as opposed to the inexplicably heavy yet fragile mystery metal bikes you find in most stores.

If it's for commuting and general tooling about he might get on better with a mountain bike, road bikes are famously easy to crash.

3. Arboreal

Thanks F-T-S, he liked his last cheap road bike, but hated the mountain bike (it was clipped by a car and died that way). Dropped handlebars are a must, apparently.

4. Valo

Valo Minimodder

See if you can get a used HOY bike, these are pretty good bang for buck and 6061 aluminum

5. B1GBUD

B1GBUD ¯\_(ツ)_/¯ Accidentally Funny

CrapBag likes this.
  6. Arboreal

Interesting thanks, @Valo; I hadn't heard of them before
    I'll take a look.