1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Modding STFU Shuttle PSU!

Discussion in 'Modding' started by MbayAQ, 29 Apr 2004.

1. MbayAQ

MbayAQ What's a Dremel?

I just picked up a Shuttle SB51G Neon Series refurbished from newegg for $150 shipped (not a bad deal if I do say so myself) and have instantly grown to hate that little psu fan. I am about to order a Panaflo L1A and a Fanmate to take care of the case fan, but the power supply noise still remains a problem. I have thought of 2 solutions so far and would be open to any suggestions or comments. (p.s. im a starvin college student so money is tight, so im trying to fix this as cheaply as possible).

1. Add a second 40mm fan to the psu and try and reduce both of their speed to try and copy the Shuttle Silent X power supply.
    2. Mod my psu to be fanless. :naughty: I have 3 large heatsinks laying around from such things as a radeon 9700pro, a P4, and an old PII. I was thinking I could hack them up and have some big headsinks sticking out of the back of the case or possibly make the whole psu external to improve the passive cooling. My only question about this one is, can it be done safely and reliably? I don't want to burn my apartment down.

Thanks!

2. MiNiMaL_FuSS

MiNiMaL_FuSS ƬӇЄƦЄ ƁЄ ƇƠƜƧ ӇЄƦЄ.

the answer is both of um.

put another fan in, 7/5volt both of them, and add the heatsinks where u cna just in case.

3. Xeno

Xeno What's a Dremel?

I prefer the heatsink. :lol:.

~Xeno~

4. Xiachunyi

Xiachunyi What's a Dremel?

Try to first take the fan out of the PSU, run it for whatever amount of minutes you wish and then feel how hot the heatsinks get. If you get that burining pain sensation (Can't stand it for > 1.5sec) then most likely the extra heatsinks won't work and you will have to utilize the extra fan, but if they get maybe lukewarm or something close to that then it's allright to add the extra heatsinks.

5. MbayAQ