Linux Wireless Networking Problems with Linux

Discussion in 'Software' started by savethegaywhales, 17 Feb 2004.

1. savethegaywhales

savethegaywhales What's a Dremel?

I recently installed Fedora Core to give Linux a try. I have some basic knowledge and I got myself somewhat acquainted with some Linux commands but ran into a problem. I have a D-Link DWL G-520 (revision A) wireless card that it is not recognizing. I searched and found 2 options. One was to use linuxant, a program that imports windows drivers. I found that quite amusing - my best solution was to import the windows solution into Linux. The problem is that I can not justify spending $20 on this. There has got to be a better way.

I then discovered the linux-wlan project. This was given by dlink.com as a possible driver but they did not support it (there was no officially supported Linux driver for my card). I thought that this would be my solution. I tried to set it up (multiple times) with no success. Does anyone have any information that could help me out? I just had to rewrite this because Internet Explorer caused a problem and needed to close, which makes me want to explore Linux to its fullest extent even more.

:wallbash:

2. lunix_user

lunix_user What's a Dremel?

hmm...
    You might hate me for this, But SuSe has some drivers built in.
    Other then that, I'm not sure.
    Wireless cards are historically a bad spot with linux.
    Not a great first experiance, im guessing.

It basically depends on the chipset of your card- sorry for not being much help.

3. trigger

trigger Procrastinator