1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Networks basic wireless question

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by skeletor121, 22 Jul 2004.

1. skeletor121

skeletor121 What's a Dremel?

I'm not a computer genius, but do know a thing or two about them. The question I have is about hooking up 2 computers to the internet using a wireless modem/router. Do I have to have the router connect to one of the computers using wire or can I just go wireless from the router to both computers? This is my first time looking into wireless and have no clue about it. The reason I don't want to hook up the router/modem to the computer directly is that the house is old and doesn't have a lot of areas where there are power outlets and a phone hook-up in the same area. The basic idea: modem/router hooked into the phone line (dsl hook-up) and the 2 computers would be wireless. Thanks.
    -Scott

2. skeletor121

I'm stupid, I know. I have already answered my own question and hope I didn't bore you all too much.

3. fatal_error

fatal_error What's a Dremel?

once it's all up and running it will be fine connecting wirelessly from both computers, in fact that's what i'm doing right now!

4. scoob8000

scoob8000 Wheres my plasma cutter?

Yup, the only thing the wireless router needs to be tethered to is power and your cable/dsl modem.. :)

Just remember, when you do set up your router pay close attention to security settings, ie use WPA and change the default SSID to something more unique.. Better yet if it lets you, turn off SSID broadcast..

-scoob8000

5. ehrnam45

ehrnam45 What's a Dremel?