1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Windows Help with raid 0 XP install

Discussion in 'Software' started by Fry, 30 Jan 2005.

1. Fry

Fry What's a Dremel?

I just purchased a second 36GB raptor and have attempted to make a raid0 array. I thought it was going along fine, but WinXP says it does not see any harddrives in the install. :grr: I used the ASUS raid install files when attempting to install. I have a P5GD2 Deluxe and am trying to use the integrated SATA Raid. What am I doing wrong? I am new at raid this is my first attempt, please help.

2. ehrnam45

ehrnam45 What's a Dremel?

have you made it all the way through winXP install? I forgot to read the directions when i went to RAID0 on my HTPC...oops! If you can't get winXP to install, make sure you copy the drivers to a floppy disc. If you've already got a separate drive with winXP on it, make sure you go into the RAID setup just after POST but before win starts. If there's anything you want to salvge on that original drive, make sure you get it before building the array--i.e. everything on it gets paved under when the RAID sectors get written.

hth!

p.s. make sure you have the boot sequence set up correctly in your BIOS as well. double check the manual for specifics on drive numbers/order.

3. Fry

Fry What's a Dremel?

It won't make it to the part where it asks what partition to set it up to. It says that it detects no harddrives installed on my computer.

*edit* may have found problem

4. Zephyr

Zephyr Go V-Boy, Go!

Well, first off: Is there a particular reason you're using a Raid0? If it's for performance, you won't see much of an increase at all. I can fully recommend, having tried both, that you don't RAID them and use each drive seperately.

Course, you can always use a RAID1 array for security, as it is basically a constant backup. Unless you want the added security, I would recommend not RAIDing.

5. Fry