1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Modding Necessary Modding Tools

Discussion in 'Modding' started by Geektechnica, 24 Mar 2005.

1. Geektechnica

Geektechnica Minimodder

Hello all. I've been doing little mods for a few years, but never anything more than plain vanilla mods. This is mostly due to lack of tools and materials. So recently I've begun gathering a proper tool collection, with the eventual aim of completing a few scratch-built cases.

So I'm looking for suggestions and comments on what things I should get.

Here's what I had before:
    Dremel with flex-shaft & misc. attachments
    Nibbler metal cutter
    50 pack of 9"x11" 600 grit wet/dry sandpaper
    50 pack of 9"x11" 1200 grit wet/dry sandpaper
    50 pack of 9"x11" 2000 grit wet/dry sandpaper
    3m Fine Cut Rubbing Compound
    Assorted regular handtools (torx drivers, ratchets, hacksaw, most of the standard stuff)
    Molex pin removal tool

What I've gotten recently:
    Cheap but powerful corded drill (with impact drill mode)
    Angle grinder (came with the drill)
    A set of titanium drill bits for drilling metal
    Jigsaw
    Pop Riveter

Things I want to get:
    Air Compressor
    Paint Gun
    Rotary sander/polisher
    Tap & Die set
    80mm Hole Saw
    Needle File set
    Step Drill Bit
    Countersink Bit
    Wire brush (for brushed aluminum, etc)

That is all I can think of at the moment. Unfortunately I am on a very, very, restrictive budget, and will likely be purchasing these items piecemeal as I get the money for them. So that basically rules out large, expensive, power tools, etc. Otherwise I'd love a drill press and a bandsaw.

Anyway, I would appreciate your input as to what I have down here, and what else I should be adding to my list.

2. Cookie Monster

Cookie Monster Multimodder

gotta have a BIG hammer

3. Geektechnica

Geektechnica Minimodder