1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Windows AVG Anti Virus

Discussion in 'Software' started by monkeyville, 18 Jun 2005.

1. monkeyville

monkeyville Evilish Monkey ++;

Hey all.

After many eons of using AVG as an anti virus it seems they have decided to start charging for it and since im a poor student i want an alternative. Has anybody got any recommendations of free virus scanners?

2. D4VID

D4VID What's a Dremel?

I'm sure the free version is still available, and supported with updates just as it always has been. See the AVG Free Edition Website.

I think they have possibly just hidden it away on their main site so its a bit more difficult to find.

3. monkeyville

monkeyville Evilish Monkey ++;

ahhh so it is still free. The description made it out to be a 30 day free trial but i guess thats to try get people to buy it. Cheers for the link.

EDIT: However is AVG actually the best free one out there? I havent tried any others as AVG worked first time and ive never had reason to doubt it.

4. da-dude

da-dude What's a Dremel?

i used to use antivir xp which picked up on things other such as AVG, ad-aware and spybot didnt. Also, try microsoft antispyware, its free and picks up on pretty much anything

5. severedhead

severedhead What's a Dremel?

I used to use AVG, but moved to avast! antivirus and I'm not going back. Is still free, although requires registration on their site. Can't fault it, finds all sorts and doesn't mind being turned off at service level.

6. webbyman

webbyman Hax.

i wouldn't believe that for one second but thats me :hehe:

7. butch_vendor

butch_vendor What's a Dremel?

I have to agree with the advise about using microsoft anti spyware. I have been using it for a few months now and havn't picked up one bit of spyware

8. da-dude

da-dude What's a Dremel?