1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

News Microsoft warns of zero-day Windows flaw

Discussion in 'Article Discussion' started by arcticstoat, 31 Jan 2011.

1. arcticstoat

arcticstoat Minimodder

2. mi1ez

mi1ez Modder

These things happen, at least there's a temporary workaround. Does this only affect IE then?

3. Zurechial

Zurechial Elitist

I'm not usually one to jump on the Anti-Microsoft bandwagon and I'm no security expert either, but these kind of flaws make me wonder what the point of UAC is in Vista/7 if applications like IE can operate outside of their purpose (ie; web browsing) without user direction.
    Why is IE running in a security context with that level of system access to begin with? I don't recall ever having to pass a UAC prompt to load up IE, so why does the browser have that level of access to the rest of the system?

I sometimes get the feeling that Microsoft gives its own applications secure access by default because "It's signed by us, it can't possibly be harmful".
    Or have I missed something crucial here?

I know we can google it, but it'd be nice if this article provided even a vague description/explanation of MHTML lockdown mode!

Last edited: 31 Jan 2011
  4. maximus09

maximus09 Forever n00b

does this affect other browsers then?

5. Shichibukai

Shichibukai Resident Nitpicker

When will the list of failures end >.>

6. Enzo Matrix

Enzo Matrix What's a Dremel?

So if this an IE security flaw? I was under that impression until this statement:
    "affects all versions of Windows, including Windows 7 and Windows Server 2008 R2"

This is misleading because this would not need to be stated if it were simply an IE flaw. Please clarify.

7. Yslen

Yslen Lord of the Twenty-Seventh Circle

So even for the poor fools using IE this major security flaw is rendered completely harmless simply by having UAC on? That's how I read it anyway.