1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

"Sangaku" New York Times

Discussion in 'Project Logs' started by greensabbath, 7 May 2005.

1. greensabbath

greensabbath Got Wood?

Just to start out, i haven't done this before, so if the log sucks for a little while, i'm sorry. but anyway... I am new to computer modding, but i've been a furniture make for a while. My roommate is the opposite, so naturally, i decided to combine the two and make a computer that resembles a peice of furniture.

My basic idea was to have a wood frame, joined with a few different joints, and an inside frame where all of the hardware would fasten to. The interior frame will be made out of grey transparent acrylic, along with the front and back plates. the floor and ceiling will be sitka spruce, and for an extra japanese flair, the side doors wil be sliding shoji doors with one panel left clear to see all the goodies inside. And to top it all off, there will be two massive aluminum doors which hopefully will have a hand hammered look, and will be anadized black.

Here are some pics of the frame.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

The wood i'm using is a mahogany, i chose this for the color, and well, it was just left over from a project that i majorly screwed up on and it just happened to be suitable for this purpose. For the joinery, the top peices are joined with a half-lap joint and the vertical members connect with a pinned through mortise and tennon.

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]

The black wood in the picture is ebony, very expensive but very hard and works very well for the purpose of pins, knobs, and the like.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]