1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Modding How many hours do you spend looking and thinking?

Discussion in 'Modding' started by jhanlon303, 12 Feb 2008.

1. jhanlon303

jhanlon303 The Keeper of History

Discussion.
    I am at a point in my project log, where I am spending a lot of time looking, thinking, and NOT modding. Anybody ever been here? I spent about 4 hours placing parts and re arraigning my mods internals. Lucky I always have more than one project or I would get frustrated. Comments?
    John

2. dutchcedar

dutchcedar What's a Dremel?

You made me feel better already... I'm not alone...

Around here its 95% thinking, planning and re-thinking... 5% hands on work. :D

3. jhanlon303

Thanks a lot. I am glad I'm not alone here. I will be capable of your modding skills in about the year 2525. I've been doing this modding thing for about 10 years now but I am just coming out of the closet and sharing.
    John

4. Noswal

Noswal What's a Dremel?

:lol: I've been planning for years and haven't even finalized my ideas. You guys should feel great about yourselves being that you both started to mod already.

-Noswal

5. E.E.L. Ambiense

E.E.L. Ambiense Acrylic Heretic

Oh sure. Thinking is how it gets done with minimal error! :)

6. Xtrafresh

Xtrafresh It never hurts to help

minimal error? sounds edible, what is it?

The way i normally do it is to start building, and think while i build. Then, when i'm done, i build it again, but without all the mistakes and with the generally better production values of the second go :D

This method allows me more hands-on time, which i like, and it also makes me think about things from a different angle. It can be quite consuming on materials though....

7. talladega

talladega I'm Squidward

i often just sit and think up different ideas for my mod. on sunday i sat online for like 5-6 hours looking at different parts to buy for my mod. LOL!