1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

G20 Protest Murder?

Discussion in 'Serious' started by Major, 8 Apr 2009.

1. Nexxo

Nexxo * Prefab Sprout – The King of Rock 'n' Roll

Don't you guys watch CSI? Don't go on appearance, follow the evidence... :p

In any case, before we get the torches and pitchforks and assemble a lynch mob, let's consider the context:

Note, this was near where Ian Tomlinson was struck. So things were already a little volatile there. Nor was Mr. Tomlinson quite as pure as the driven snow:

The "increasingly ugly mood" could of course be ascribed to the Police's heavy-handed tactics.
    The Guardian comments:

Now, as a psychologist I would argue that penning a crowd into an increasingly small space and not allowing them to disperse is exactly the wrong way of dealing with a potentially volatile situation. As the article goes on to say:

Hey, we signed up for it when we signed up for the War on Terror™. We rubber-stamped it when we let Jean-Charles De Menezes' murder (because yes, there was an intent to kill) go unchallenged. This is the future.

On the other hand, we're not in police state Britain just yet. This was not Tien An Min Square by a long shot, nor how things are usually handled in South America, and at least the papers get to publicly criticise how the police acted.

The next step is up to us. We can be responsible citizens and keep this event in mind the next time we vote (give Boris Johnson his due, at least he got rid of Sir Blair). We can make sure that due process is followed in the legal prosecution of this police officer and his superiors. As Tomlinson's family says:

We can act as informed members of a democratic state. But if we reach for the rope and torches, what are we then just another bunch of self-righteous bullies?

Krikkit likes this.
  2. cpemma

cpemma Ecky thump