HTPC so... HTPC advice

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by law99, 30 May 2013.

1. law99

law99 Custom User Title

http://www.scan.co.uk/savedbasket/a52b30dc402d4ba0824840c77101e05e

I was pondering a blu-ray player for my new abode as I've been using a flatmates ps3.

So as I'll want a PC in the living room for spotify, iPlayer, playing stuff off the nas, I figure a single htpc would be the most robust option.

Questions:

1. Is it right what I've done above? I've never used a slim drive before.
    2. Does it come with software for blu-ray? (The drive) If not, what would you recommend?
    3. 3d - if I wanted it in the future, am I missing anything? I'm probably not bothered, but it is nice to know.
    4. Any remaining critique on the build... I've probably missed something, I always do.
    5. CPU cooler... Any silent recommendations? Not adverse to closed loop cooler... Just need quiet for obvious reasons.

All the above goes into a av-reciever.

Another consideration being, is kabini going to come along and change my build? Tbh, in n the new place I'm thinking kabini will hopefully power a small server for files and web dev. Maybe even another as the pfsense firewall with the nas using either lamp or iss and admin shares.

Additional info: another reason for using a PC is I own a colour calibration thing for my gfs work as graphic designer. So kind of nails expensive calibration of my TV.

2. law99

law99 Custom User Title

Arc soft total media may be up to scratch. Might email their support. I want to see TrueHD or DTS HD MA pop up on my receiver. It is the little things eh... ?

P.s. searching/writing on tablet. So not the best research on the subject going on.

3. Instagib

Instagib Minimodder

You will probably need one of these sata to mini-sata for the slimline optical drive.

law99 likes this.
  4. law99

law99 Custom User Title

Last edited: 30 May 2013
  5. halfinched

halfinched What's a Dremel?