1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Scratch Build – In Progress Loricatus by shinji2k

Discussion in 'Project Logs' started by shinji2k, 9 Oct 2014.

1. shinji2k

shinji2k Minimodder

If I was born 500 years ago I would have definitely been a blacksmith. There's something so satisfying about shaping metal, even though I'm not very good at it yet :rolleyes:.
    I tried looking for a picture or video clip but I didn't have much luck.
    Ah Berserk, one of the more disturbing things I've read. I will always remember that manga for it's demonic horse rape scene :blah:. It's a shame the series will probably never be finished. I actually modded Skyrim and added the Berserker armor and Dragonslayer so I had a female version of Guts.
    I can only hope it'll look that good when I'm done.
    :D What'll be awesome is figuring out this stupid transition to the side panels. :wallbash:

2. shinji2k

shinji2k Minimodder

I wish I had something for ya. I've been brainstorming an idea for the nuc competition on top of the normal holiday season crap. I figured I needed a couple weeks of thinking about something different since I'm still a little hung up on the design for this.

3. shinji2k

shinji2k Minimodder

I haven't completely given up on this yet. I haven't had much motivation to work on the case but I have been playing around with some water block prototypes. It's not much but I figured I would share it.

[​IMG]

Cutting 36 0.02" slots 0.100" deep is not fun on a vertical mill with no flood coolant. :blah: Why did I think this was a good idea?

[​IMG]

Various iterations. I tried a clear acrylic and a black UHMW PE top. I'll probably settle on black acetal but this is what I just happened to have on hand.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

The white there is HDPE, definitely not sturdy enough. Looks like I need to buy some acetal. The clear acrylic is also an option, I just don't like milling it.